RECOMMENDED: Click here to fix Windows errors and optimize system performance
A new Nearby Friends feature has been integrated into the Facebook mobile application. The social network claims that it would allow Facebook users to find or locate friends nearby and help them organize a meeting.
Facebook ‘Close friends’ is designed to help friends meet offline to describe the feature definition in detail. It uses geolocation technology in the user’s smartphone to determine when he is near one of his Facebook friends. He is sometimes warned when one of his friends in the group is in the immediate vicinity. For example, if you go to the movies, Nearby Friends will tell you if there are friends around so you can watch the movie together or meet later.
However, this function is optional. This means you can select’ON’ if you want to participate in an activity that allows you to share your exact location with your friends. Users who do not want to activate Close Friends are not affected in any way. It’s just that they are asked to limit their desire to share or receive information about where other people are on the platform.
A small tutorial is available to guide you through each feature usage topic. First of all, it is recommended to select the Facebook groups with which you want to share your location, as you cannot share your location with the public or friends of your friends. It is limited to friends or other groups you have created.
Also, you cannot immediately see the exact location of a friend or determine the exact coordinates. The application does not indicate a distance of more than 0.5 miles, but can easily detect people at the furthest distance. Close friends can only share your exact location with a friend if you publish the location on a map for a specific time (until noon).
After selecting this option, your friend will be able to access your exact location in real time. It should be noted that the function is not automatically disabled after the power is turned on. It continues to send your position until it is manually deactivated.
Disable close friends on Facebook
To enable or disable close friends on an iPhone or Android:
- Touch Friends nearby
- Press the Settings icon
- Touch Share Location.
To enable or disable push notifications for close friends on iPhone or Android :
- Select Account settings > Notifications > Mobile Push
- Select whether you want to enable or disable push notifications for close friends.
Facebook also addresses users’ fears about sharing information about the places they visit most often. It might scare some people, wouldn’t it? Don’t worry about it! Facebook ensures that users can remove this data from Facebook servers at any time by deleting their activities in the application settings. The social network currently explains:’Nearby Friends’ will only be introduced in the US, but will be available to users in the near future. No wonder, because that’s how the social networking giant does it when it adds new features or implements new products.