Enable or disable the CTRL+ALT+DELETE requirement to connect to Windows 7



RECOMMENDED: Click here to fix Windows errors and optimize system performance

While you can disable Secure Logon or Ctrl Alt Del via UI, Group Policy or Windows Registry and set that CTRL+ALT+DEL is not required before connecting to a Windows 7 or Windows Vista computer, Microsoft has now released a Fix It that automatically allows it.

When you click Ctrl + Alt + Delete together in Windows 7, you will see a screen with the following options :

  • Lock this computer
  • User switch
  • Logout
  • Change password
  • Task manager.

The Ctrl+Alt+Del screen adds a level of security to your Windows computer because it provides a secure connection . When enabling the secure connection, users must press Ctrl+Alt+Del before they can enter their credentials and log in. But if you wish, you can now simply disable the Ctrl+Alt+Del request to connect with a Microsoft patch.



Fix Update September 2019:

We recommend you try using this new tool. It fixes a wide range of computer errors, as well as protecting against things like file loss, malware, hardware failures and optimizes your PC for maximum performance. It fixed our PC quicker than doing it manually:

  • Step 1 : Download PC Repair & Optimizer Tool (Windows 10, 8, 7, XP, Vista – Microsoft Gold Certified).
  • Step 2 : Click “Start Scan” to find Windows registry issues that could be causing PC problems.
  • Step 3 : Click “Repair All” to fix all issues.

download
(optional offer for Advanced System Repair Pro -> Website | EULA | Privacy Policy | Uninstall)



We have seen how you can enable or disable the CTRL+ALT+DELETE sequence by disabling the secure connection for faster connection in Windows 7 using the Windows Registry and Group Policy Editor.

To make things easier, Microsoft has released a Microsoft Fix It 50405 via KB308226 that allows you to enable the CTRL+ALT+DEL sequence request for login and Microsoft fixes 50406 to disable the CTRL+ALT+DELETE sequence for login. This wizard may only be available in English, but automatic correction also works for other language versions of Windows.

The Fix It Portable, so you can save the Fix it solution on a USB stick or CD and then run it on the computer of your choice.

Note that you must be logged in with administrator privileges to perform this task.

If your computer is part of a domain, domain-wide policies may have been defined that override the settings you make on the local computer.

How to change Ctrl+Alt+Delete options in Windows may also interest you. Display this message if you do not want to see the last user name in the login screen settings.



RECOMMENDED: Click here to troubleshoot Windows errors and optimize system performance

Related Video