RECOMMENDED: Click here to fix Windows errors and optimize system performance
To get the most out of your relaxed workspace, you need to have a good command of the channels. That’s why the Shift team has put together the ultimate guide to Slack channels for you!
Having a place for everything is one of the greatest benefits of Slack. Although the ability to have multiple channels in a workspace is even better.
With channels for specific tasks and even general channels for conversations and jokes outside of that, it makes no sense to have everything on one board.
That’s why we thought we could help you a little with our ultimate release channel guide. Because Shift exists for your productivity.
- Workspace owners and administrators can delete all channels they have joined except channel #general. If you are not an owner or administrator, contact one of them for help.
- To delete a shared channel, first stop sharing it.
- Files from a deleted channel can still be accessed in your workspace-you can delete them if necessary.
Deleting a Channel on Slack
Removing a channel from your workspace is as simple as creating a channel. Simply select the channel you want to get rid of and click an option to remove it from your workspace. The channel and its messages are permanently deleted, so you should make sure nothing important is left in the channel before deleting it.
To delete a channel, your role in the workspace must be an owner or administrator. If you are a normal user, you cannot delete channels. Another thing to remember when deleting a channel is that once the channel is shared, you must first share it before you can delete it. Also, you must be a member of the channel to delete it.
Any files you have shared in the channel will remain intact and must be deleted manually. Deleting a channel does not delete the files uploaded to the channel.
If the prerequisites are met, we will see how to delete a channel in your Slack workspace.
- To delete a channel, open the Additional Options menu as described above
- Click on the Delete this channel option
- Check the Yes, permanently delete this channel checkbox
- Press the “Delete Channel” button.
Archiving a Channel on Slack
If you want to delete a string from your workspace, but want to have the opportunity to visit it again later, you can simply archive it.
To do so, you need to archive the channel :
1. Click on the gear icon to access the “Channel settings
2. Click on “Additional options
3. Select “Archive this channel”.
Note: Any channel except channel #general can be archived – but why archive it?
RECOMMENDED: Click here to troubleshoot Windows errors and optimize system performance
CCNA, Web Developer, PC Troubleshooter
I am a computer enthusiast and a practicing IT Professional. I have years of experience behind me in computer programming, hardware troubleshooting and repair. I specialise in Web Development and Database Design. I also have a CCNA certification for Network Design and Troubleshooting.