RECOMMENDED: Click here to fix Windows errors and optimize system performance
You want to learn how to permanently delete a Skype account, don’t you? After all, you are on this page, reading the guide and looking for the next steps.
Skype is undoubtedly one of the oldest and most popular VoIP (Voice over Internet Protocol) applications. Over the years, it has gained millions of users from all continents on the map. He established the roadmap for transparent voice and video calls that allow people on the other side of the road or thousands of kilometres away to make realistic calls with a single click.
Regardless of the popularity or ease of use of the application, there may be a time when you no longer need VoIP or you want to move to a more feature-rich application.
For some reason, you can’t just delete a Skype account by clicking on a magic button called “Delete My Account”. If you don’t know how to delete your Skype account before you permanently delete it, you may lose access to your Outlook or Xbox Live account.
Don’t scratch your head. Read on to find out how to delete your Skype account without losing access to other accounts and what security measures you can take if you delete it for privacy reasons.
Close a Skype account the right way
Unfortunately, there is no magic button to close a Skype account all at once.
“If you want to close your Skype account, you need to contact us so we can close it for you,” Microsoft explains. Contacting Skype is the easiest part. What matters here are the three steps to follow before you permanently delete your Skype account:
- Remove the link to a Microsoft account from your Skype account.
- Cancel all active subscriptions and request a refund.
- Cancel a Skype number if you have one.
- Remove recurring payments by disabling the Automatic Renewal function.
- Update your mood message
- Set your status to Offline or Invisible.
- Disconnecting Skype from all devices
- Delete personal information from your Skype profile.
- I strongly recommend that you use the Skype Credit you have before you delete your account, as you will not be able to recover it once your account is closed.
What to do before you close your Skype account?
Don’t forget to spend the remaining credit on pay calls before closing your account. You must also cancel the automatic reload if you have activated it. You can also save contacts using the same account management interface by exporting the contact directory:
To cancel your Skype subscription
If you want to cancel your Skype subscription, you need to sign in to your account. In the left part of the screen (under the image of your profile), all active subscriptions are listed – choose Manage from the subscription you want to cancel.
You will then be redirected to your subscription settings – under your billing information, there is an “unsubscribe” option.
Press this button and you will be asked again if you want to cancel your subscription and you will receive a list of reasons to cancel – if you are sure, click on the Cancel Subscription button.
After terminating your subscription, you can still use it until the expiry date (your normal renewal date). It’s important to note that “you must cancel at least three days before the renewal date in order not to be billed for the next billing cycle,” says the Skype support center.
RECOMMENDED: Click here to troubleshoot Windows errors and optimize system performance
CCNA, Web Developer, PC Troubleshooter
I am a computer enthusiast and a practicing IT Professional. I have years of experience behind me in computer programming, hardware troubleshooting and repair. I specialise in Web Development and Database Design. I also have a CCNA certification for Network Design and Troubleshooting.