RECOMMENDED: Click here to fix Windows errors and optimize system performance
WhatsApp, like other popular messaging on iOS and Android, displays a double blue check mark when recipients have read your sent messages. For those of you who can’t reply immediately or don’t want to reply at all, you can disable the “read receipts” feature so senders won’t know when or if you’ve read their messages.
As a sender, you probably like to know when someone reads your messages, but as a recipient, you either love or hate them, or it depends on the person. If there is no way to disable reading chat receipts, there is a way to disable them completely. If you disable them, you won’t be able to see if anyone has read your sent messages, nor will anyone who sends you messages be able to see when you open them. WhatsApp takes an “all or nothing” approach, so you cannot hide indicators from your friends and expect to see them when they open your messages.
To Disable Read Receipts in WhatsApp
You can see the status of each WhatsApp by checking the box. A single gray check mark next to the message means it has been sent; a double gray check mark means it has been delivered to the recipient’s phone, and when the check marks turn blue, you know that the recipient has read your message.
If you don’t want to read receipts, you can turn them off as follows:
- Open WhatsApp from the application drawer or the Home screen.
- Select the Action Overflow menu (three vertical dots in the upper right corner).
- Select Settings.
- Go to the Accounts section.
- Click Privacy.
- Turn off the Read Receipts feature.
Disable WhatsApp Last Seen
There is no point in disabling the reading of receipts if the sender of your message sees that you were on WhatsApp and did not bother reading their message. This is even worse.
As with read receipts, it works both ways: You can’t see the date they were last online if you don’t let them see the date you were.
- Launch WhatsApp and tap the three dots in the upper right corner of the screen.
- Go to the Settings menu
- Select an account
- Choosing data protection
- Last entry seen
- Do not select anyone
If you do this, the blue tick will be disabled – you can still see the first three levels of a message, but not the fourth. Turning off your read receipts also means that no one will receive them for talking to you.
In other words, for read receipts to be visible in a chat between two people, both people must have them turned on. If they are only used by one party, neither party can see them in that chat.
The only exception is for group chats – you cannot disable reading receipts. They appear as soon as all members of a group have seen the message.
RECOMMENDED: Click here to troubleshoot Windows errors and optimize system performance
CCNA, Web Developer, PC Troubleshooter
I am a computer enthusiast and a practicing IT Professional. I have years of experience behind me in computer programming, hardware troubleshooting and repair. I specialise in Web Development and Database Design. I also have a CCNA certification for Network Design and Troubleshooting.