Repair Someone else is using this PC Error (Fixed)



Updated February 2024: Stop getting error messages and slow down your system with our optimization tool. Get it now at this link
  1. Download and install the repair tool here.
  2. Let it scan your computer.
  3. The tool will then repair your computer.

When you ask your PC to stop or restart, Windows first checks if other Windows user accounts have active sessions. This happens if you lock your Windows session and log in with another user account before logging out.

If Windows determines that another user has not logged out correctly, it displays the message “Someone else is still using this PC. This other user may lose unsaved data in open applications if you force a forced restart. It is usually a good idea to stop here and let the other user log in, save his work and log out before stopping.

On Windows, you can click on “Shut down anyway” if you are sure that the other user does not have an open job to save. This will force the other user account to log out and close all open applications. Unsaved data will be lost.

If you are the only connected user, this message does not appear and Windows moves directly to the next step.



February 2024 Update:

You can now prevent PC problems by using this tool, such as protecting you against file loss and malware. Additionally it is a great way to optimize your computer for maximum performance. The program fixes common errors that might occur on Windows systems with ease - no need for hours of troubleshooting when you have the perfect solution at your fingertips:

  • Step 1 : Download PC Repair & Optimizer Tool (Windows 10, 8, 7, XP, Vista – Microsoft Gold Certified).
  • Step 2 : Click “Start Scan” to find Windows registry issues that could be causing PC problems.
  • Step 3 : Click “Repair All” to fix all issues.

download



FIX: ‘Someone Else Is Still Using This PC’ in Windows 10

  1. Right-click the Start button or press the W8K + X buttons and select Settings.
  2. In the Settings application, go to Accounts > Login Options.
  3. Scroll down the Connection Options screen and, under Privacy, deselect Use connection information to automatically complete the installation of my device after an update or restart. Close the Settings application.
  4. Perform steps 1 to 3 for each of the user accounts you have on the system, then restart the machine and check that the problem is solved.

Logging out of the previous user

It turns out that this problem can also be caused by an incomplete disconnection of a previous user. Several Windows users who also encountered this problem reported that they were able to solve the problem by using the Task Manager to disconnect the user who was preventing shutdown or restart.

Here is a quick guide to disconnect the previous user from the Task Manager:

  1. Press Ctrl + Shift + Enter to open the Task Manager.
  2. Once in the Task Manager interface, select the Users tab from the horizontal menu at the top.
  3. Then go to the Users list, right-click on the user who is no longer logged in and choose Disconnect from the new context menu that appears.
  4. Try repeating the action that previously triggered the error ‘Someone else is still using this PC’ and see if the problem is solved.

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/all/someone-else-is-using-this-pc/a2f1553f-2920-4577-8384-4cea9ebb212e



Expert Tip: This repair tool scans the repositories and replaces corrupt or missing files if none of these methods have worked. It works well in most cases where the problem is due to system corruption. This tool will also optimize your system to maximize performance. It can be downloaded by Clicking Here